2,000-year-old inscription dedicated to Hadrian found in Jerusalem

2,000-year-old inscription dedicated to Hadrian found in Jerusalem


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Israeli archaeologists on Tuesday released the discovery of a 2,000-year-old stone inscription dedicated to the Roman Emperor Hadrian, which in the opinion of the researchers sheds light on the Jewish revolt against the old Empire.

The stone, which measures one meter by one and a half meters and weighs a ton, was found near the Damascus Gate in the Old City of Jerusalem. The Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) called the find "one of the most important Latin inscriptions" discovered in the city.

The six lines engraved in white limestone are a dedication of the Roman army in honor of Emperor Hadrian, who visited the city in 130 AD.

This inscription was made before the so-called Bar Kokhba revolt (132-136 AD) against the Roman Empire”Explained Rina Avner, who led the excavation where the stone was found. He also commented that experts are divided on whether the revolt was the result of the harsh measures taken against the Jews by Hadrian, who rebuilt the city with pagan temples and renamed it Aelia Capitolina, or if on the contrary, these decrees were a punishment. for the rebellion.

Avner added that this stone “It won't change history, but it is an important piece of the puzzle we've been trying to solve for a long time.”.

After studying History at the University and after many previous tests, Red Historia was born, a project that emerged as a means of dissemination where you can find the most important news of archeology, history and humanities, as well as articles of interest, curiosities and much more. In short, a meeting point for everyone where they can share information and continue learning.


Video: Rare Hadrian Inscription Unearthed in Jerusalem

2.000 Jahre alte Inschrift, die Hadrian gewidmet ist und in Jerusalem gefunden wurde

2.000 Jahre alte Inschrift, die Hadrian gewidmet ist und in Jerusalem gefunden wurde

Israelische Archäologen haben am Dienstag die Entdeckung von veröffentlicht eine 2000 Jahre alte Steininschrift, die dem römischen Kaiser Hadrian gewidmet ist, die nach Meinung der Forscher den jüdischen Aufstand gegen das alte Reich beleuchtet.

Der Stein, der einen Meter mal anderthalb Meter misst und eine Tonne wiegt, wurde in der Nähe des Damaskustors gefunden in der Altstadt von Jerusalem. Die Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) nannte den Fund "eine der wichtigsten lateinischen Inschriften", die in der Stadt entdeckt wurden.

Die sechs in weißen Kalkstein eingravierten Linien sind eine Widmung der römischen Armee zu Ehren von Kaiser Hadrian, der die Stadt 130 n. Chr. Besuchte.

Diese Inschrift wurde vor dem sogenannten Aufstand von Bar Kokhba (132-136 n. Chr.) Gegen das Römische Reich angefertigtErklärte Rina Avner, die die Ausgrabung leitete, bei der der Stein gefunden wurde. Er bemerkte auch, dass Experten gespalten sind, ob der Aufstand das Ergebnis der harten Maßnahmen war, die Hadrian gegen die Juden ergriffen hatte, der die Stadt mit heidnischen Tempeln wiederaufbaute und in Aelia Capitolina umbenannte, oder ob diese Dekrete im Gegenteil eine Strafe waren. für die Rebellion.

Avner fügte hinzu, dass dieser Stein “Es wird die Geschichte nicht ändern, aber es ist ein wichtiger Teil des Puzzles, den wir seit langem zu lösen versuchen”.

Nach dem Studium der Geschichte an der Universität und nach vielen früheren Tests wurde Red Historia geboren, ein Projekt, das als Mittel zur Verbreitung entstanden ist und in dem Sie die wichtigsten Nachrichten aus den Bereichen Archäologie, Geschichte und Geisteswissenschaften sowie Artikel von Interesse, Kuriositäten und vielem mehr finden. Kurz gesagt, ein Treffpunkt für alle, an dem sie Informationen austauschen und weiter lernen können.


Video: 800 JAHRE ALTE SILBERMÜNZE GEFUNDEN!! - SONDELN AN ALTER KIRCHE